Jay-Z On Why He Hasn’t Released His Autobiography: “It’s Too Much”

“It’s too much,” he tells me. “For the book, I was interviewed; people close to me were interviewed. So I was learning a lot of things I didn’t know as as a child. And it was too…..” He trails off, and then continues, “It’s not anything I haven’t said I said in the past, in songs. It’s just more detailed. A song is three minutes long. A book doesn’t have to rhyme, and it has no time limit, so you can say exactly how everything went.” He says the biggest revelation he had reading his own autobiography came in the parts about his father, who abandoned the family when Jay was 11. “It was still wrong, at the end of the day that he left,” Jay says, “but he did stick around at a time where it wasn’t cool or popular-he married my mom at a time when guys were just leaving, and you’d never even meet your dad. So it made me ease up a little bit in how I felt about him.”

This entry was posted in Interviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jay-Z On Why He Hasn’t Released His Autobiography: “It’s Too Much”

  1. Pingback: Jay-Z On Why He Hasn?t Released His Autobiography: ?It?s Too Much? « Omahasteakscoupons's Blog

Leave a Reply

